HomeAbout UsContact UsFrançais
Be Web Aware
About Us
MediaSmarts
What Kids do Online
Know the Challenges
Safety Tips by Age
Get Involved

About Be Web Aware

Be Web Aware is a national, bilingual public education program on Internet safety. The initiative was developed and supported by MediaSmarts, Bell and Microsoft Canada.

The program was launched in 2004 with a series of public service announcements (PSAs) and Web-based resources, aimed at empowering parents with information so they can help their children make safe and wise online decisions. It's all part of helping young Canadians benefit from the opportunities of the Internet while minimizing the potential risks.

Be Web Aware comprises a PSA campaign on television, radio, print and outdoor and this comprehensive Web site. The site, which was developed by MNet, is full of information and tools to help parents effectively manage Internet use in the home. In 2010, Bell funded the re-design and updating of www.bewebaware.ca. MNet would like to thank Bell for its generous ongoing support of this valuable resource for Canadian parents.

For more information on Be Web Aware, contact:

Maya Shoucair
Communications Officer
MediaSmarts
613-224-7721, ext. 231


Founding Partners

MediaSmarts

MediaSmarts (formerly Media Awareness Network) is a Canadian not-for-profit centre for media and digital literacy. Its aim is to help children and youth develop an informed and critical understanding of media, the techniques used in creating media products and the media's role and influence within society. MediaSmarts’ programs include classroom and community resources, professional development workshops, research on young Canadians’ Internet use and public awareness campaigns. mediasmarts.ca hosts the world’s largest repositories of English and French resources for media and digital literacy education.


bell

Bell is Canada's largest communications company, providing consumers and business with solutions to all their communications needs, including Bell Mobility wireless, high-speed Bell Internet, Bell TV direct-to-home satellite television, Bell Home phone local and long distance, and IP-broadband and information and communications technology (ICT) services. Bell is proud to be a Premier National Partner and the Exclusive Telecommunications Partner to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

Bell is wholly owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE). For information on Bell's products and services, please visit www.bell.ca. For corporate information on BCE, please visit www.bce.ca.



microsoft

Established in 1985, Microsoft Canada Inc. is the Canadian subsidiary of Microsoft Corporation (Nasdaq "MSFT") the worldwide leader in software, services and solutions that help people and businesses realize their full potential. Microsoft Canada provides nationwide sales, marketing, consulting and local support services in both French and english. Headquartered in Mississauga, Microsoft Canada has nine regional offices across the country dedicated to empowering people through great software - any time, any place and on any device. For more information on Microsoft Canada, please visit www.microsoft.ca.

Find us on FaceBook Follow us on Twitter!

AccueilAbout UsContact UsFrançais
Be Web Aware
Qui sommes-nous ?
HabiloMédias
Les activités en ligne de vos enfants
Maîtriser les défis d’Internet
Conseils de sécurité par âges
Impliquez-vous

Qui sommes-nous ?

WebAverti est un programme national bilingue d’information publique sur la sécurité de la navigation dans Internet. Cette initiative a été développée et appuyée par le HabiloMédias, Bell et Microsoft Canada.

Le programme a été lancé en 2004 avec une série de messages d’intérêt public et des ressources sur le Web permettant aux parents d’aider leurs enfants à prendre des décisions averties quand ils sont en ligne. Le but ultime est d’aider les jeunes canadiens à profiter des opportunités d’Internet tout en en minimisant les risques possibles.

WebAverti comprend une campagne d’intérêt public pour la télévision, la radio, les journaux, et les panneaux d’affichage, ainsi que ce site Web exhaustif. Le site, qui a été développé par le HabiloMédias, est riche en information et outils destinés à gérer efficacement l’utilisation d’Internet à la maison. En 2010, Bell a versé des fonds pour la mise à jour du site. Le Réseau aimerait remercier Bell pour son soutien continuel et généreux de cette ressource si précieuse pour les parents canadiens.

Pour de plus amples information sur WebAverti, contactez :

Maya Shoucair
Agente de communications
HabiloMédias
613-224-7721, poste 231


Partenaires fondateurs

HabiloMédias

HabiloMédias (anciennement le Réseau Éducation-Médias) est un organisme canadien sans but lucratif, reconnu pour l’éducation aux médias et aux technologies numériques. Il a pour objectif de veiller à ce que les enfants et les jeunes acquièrent une compréhension informée et critique des médias, des techniques utilisés dans la création des produits médiatiques et du rôle et de l’influence que les médias jouent dans la société. Les programmes du Réseau comprennent des ressources pour la classe et la communauté, des ateliers de développement professionnel, de la recherche sur utilisation d’Internet par les jeunes canadiens et des campagnes d’intérêt public. habilomedias.ca héberge la plus grande bibliothèque de ressources bilingues en éducation aux médias et aux technologies numériques.


bell

Bell est la plus grande entreprise de communications du Canada, offrant aux consommateurs et aux entreprises des solutions à tous leurs besoins de communications, y compris les services sans fil de Bell Mobilité, les services haute vitesse Bell Internet, les services de télévision directe par satellite Bell Télé, le service local et interurbain Bell Téléphonie, les services IP-large bande ainsi que les services des technologies de l'information et des communications. Bell est fière d'être un Grand partenaire national et le partenaire Exclusif en matière de télécommunications des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver de 2010 à Vancouver.

Bell est la propriété exclusive de BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE : BCE). Pour plus d'information sur les produits et services de Bell, visitez le site www.bell.ca ; pour plus d'information sur BCE, visitez le site www.bce.ca.



microsoft

Fondée en 1985, Microsoft Canada Co. est la filiale canadienne de Microsoft Corporation (Nasdaq : « MSFT »), le chef de file mondial du marché des logiciels, des services et des solutions qui aident les personnes et les entreprises à réaliser leur plein potentiel. Microsoft Canada fournit à l'échelle nationale des services de vente, de marketing, de consultation et d'assistance en français et en anglais. La société, dont le siège social est établi à Mississauga, possède neuf bureaux régionaux à l'échelle du pays, dont la mission consiste à donner pleins pouvoirs aux gens grâce à des logiciels exceptionnels, partout, à toute heure et sur n'importe quel ordinateur. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Microsoft Canada, veuillez consulter www.microsoft.ca.

Find us on FaceBook Follow us on Twitter!