HomeAbout UsContact UsFrançais
Be Web Aware
Social Networking
MediaSmarts
What Kids do Online
Know the Challenges
Safety Tips by Age
Get Involved

Social networking


Social networking is one of the most popular online activities in Canada. In fact, according to the Canada Online! study, 40 per cent of all Canadians use a social networking site Facebook being the most popular of these sites by a long shot, with over seven million active Canadian members.

A social networking site is a place on the Web where interactions take place between friends and where new friendships and social networks are created. These sites each have a different purpose. Some, like LinkedIn focus on work relations; others, such as Flixster deal with specific interests (in this case, movies); finally, there are those like Facebook that link up friends and relatives.

It’s not surprising that young people have taken to social networking – they are social creatures who need to constantly stay in touch with friends. The great majority of teens (53%) participate in some sort of social activity online. Social networking sites are where they spend most of their time leaving messages for their friends, sharing interesting links or information and posting photos and videos.

As with the adults, Facebook is the most popular social networking site for Canadian teens, with younger kids choosing to socialize in virtual worlds such as Club Penguin, Webkinz and Neopets.


What parents need to know

  • As with most technologies, kids use social networking sites differently from adults. Teens see these sites as places to hang out; much the same way previous generations would go the mall or a park. Although both teens and adults use this technology to seek out friends from their past and make new ones, the main focus for teens is chatting and making social plans with existing friends.



  • One of the main issues with social networking sites is the open access that is provided to users’ personal information. Rather than banning these sites, parents need to ensure their kids understand the privacy implications of posting intimate details of one’s life in a public space where anyone can access and download their information, photos and videos.
  • Photos posted in social networking sites can be particularly problematic for teens. Many sites let users label or “tag” people in photos they post, which means embarrassing pictures of kids where they are identified by name may be posted without their permission. And some of these photos can have a long shelf life and could come back to haunt a young person when they are applying for jobs or to post secondary institutions.

    These photos can be difficult to remove. If you want one taken down from someone else's page you have to ask the member who posted it to remove it. And bad taste or potential embarrassment is not necessarily reason enough for removal: for example, Facebook states that it cannot make people delete photos that don’t violate its Terms of Use.

    New technology means new forms of etiquette: a basic courtesy teens need to learn is asking permission from their friends before posting or tagging photos that include them. (Not to mention, thinking twice about the sorts of pictures of you and your friends you’re posting in the first place.)
  • Social media such as Facebook, texting and instant messaging are wonderfully efficient tools for planning parties. The downside is there is no way to control how many people will eventually receive a party invitation. Parents need to talk with their kids about the risks of putting party information out through their online social networks.

Privacy issues

Teens need to understand that when you post anything online, you need to consider both your intended audience – like your friends – and a possible unintended audience – which can include anybody from marketers to people you definitely wouldn’t want to share your pictures, personal information and comments with.

Learning how to apply privacy settings on social networking sites is an important way to safeguard not only your personal information – but your reputation as well.

Because Facebook is overwhelmingly the most popular social networking site with Canadian teens, we’ve chosen it as our example. During the registration process, Facebook provides numerous opportunities to post personal information: when completing their profile, users are encouraged to include as much detail as possible by filling out the many spaces available.

The site does offer options and settings to protect information, but young people have often disregarded these options in favour of the default option which is “Everyone”.

However, in December 2009, Facebook changed its policies to protect users under the age of 18 by limiting their privacy settings to “Friends of Friends” and “Networks”. In addition, their information is not available to search engines. These protections only work, of course, if kids have not lied about their age and registered as an adult.

This is what the Facebook site says about its privacy protection for minors:

Minors (anyone under 18) who use Facebook have a slightly different experience with privacy than adults. Both adults and minors have publicly available information (name, profile picture, gender, current city, networks, Friend List, Page) that will appear when people navigate to their profile and may be accessed by applications that they use. Adults and minors both appear in search results on Facebook.

However, the "Everyone" setting works differently for minors than it does for adults. When minors set information like photos or status updates to be visible to "Everyone," that information is actually only visible to their friends, friends of friends, and people in any school or work networks they have joined. Additionally, minors do not have public search listings created for them, so they do not appear in outside search engines until they have turned 18.

It’s worth taking a minute to learn more about the privacy options that are available on any site – a good place to start on Facebook is to review its Privacy Guide with your kids.

Find us on FaceBook Follow us on Twitter!

Additional Resources

Canada Online! Year Two Highlights, 2007 (Canadian Internet Project)

What Does Facebook’s Privacy Transition Mean for You? (Demand Your dotRights)

Five tips to manage Facebook's new privacy settings (The Globe and Mail, January 3, 2010)

The New Facebook Privacy Settings: A How-To (The New York Times, December 11, 2009)

5 Easy Steps to Stay Safe (and Private!) on Facebook (The New York Times, September 16, 2009)

A Parent's Guide to Facebook (ConnectSafely, 2010)

AccueilAbout UsContact UsFrançais
Be Web Aware
Social Networking
HabiloMédias
Les activités en ligne de vos enfants
Maîtriser les défis d'Internet
Conseils de sécurité par âges
Impliquez-vous

Réseautage social

Le réseautage social est l’une des activés en ligne les plus populaires au Canada : selon l’étude Canada en ligne !, 40 pour cent des canadiens, tous âges confondus, utilisent un site de réseautage social. Et Facebook est de loin le plus populaire de ces sites, avec plus de sept millions d’adhérents canadiens actifs.

Les sites de réseautage social sont des lieux permettant de créer ou de maintenir des relations sociales entre amis (anciens ou actuels), ainsi que d’étendre son réseau. Le but de ces sites est varié : certains, comme LinkedIn, privilégient les relations de travail ; d’autres, comme Flixster, s’organisent autour d’une passion (ici le cinéma), d’autres encore, comme Facebook, s’attache à relier amis et famille.

En matière de réseautage, les jeunes ne sont pas en reste : la majorité (53 %) des adolescents participe à une activité sociale en ligne, et ceci quotidiennement pour la moitié d’entre eux. C’est d’ailleurs sur ce genre de sites qu’ils passent le plus clair de leur temps lorsqu’ils sont sur Internet. Ils s’y laissent des messages, partagent des liens ou informations intéressantes (pouvant aller des loisirs à l’aide aux devoirs), diffusent des photos ou des vidéos, etc..

Et comme pour les adultes, Facebook est le site de réseautage social le plus populaire auprès des adolescents canadiens – alors que les plus jeunes, eux, se socialiseront dans les mondes virtuels tels que Club Penguin, Webkinz et Neopets.


Ce que les parents doivent savoir

  • Comme pour la majorité des technologies, les jeunes utilisent les sites de réseautage social différemment des adultes. Les adolescents voient ces sites comme des endroits où se retrouver entre amis, l’équivalent virtuel du parc ou du centre commercial pour la génération précédente. Même si, comme les adultes, les jeunes cherchent à y retrouver d’anciens amis et à s’en faire de nouveaux, leur intérêt principal reste les discussions et l’organisation de leurs loisirs avec leurs amis actuels.
  • Le défi principal que posent les sites de réseaux sociaux est l’accès qu’il donne aux renseignements personnels de l’utilisateur. Plutôt que de bannir les sites de réseaux sociaux, il s’agit d’apprendre aux jeunes comment protéger et respecter la vie privée en ligne. Les parents devraient s’assurer que leurs jeunes comprennent bien les conséquences qu’il peut y avoir à publier dans un espace public les détails de sa vie privée où n’importe qui peut récupérer leurs informations, photos et vidéos.
  • Les photos publiées dans les sites de réseautage social peuvent être particulièrement problématiques pour les adolescents. Beaucoup de ces sites permettent aux gens d’étiqueter les personnes représentées sur les photos. Il est toujours possible que des photos embarrassantes soient postées sans la permission de l’intéressé, et avec son nom. Certaines photos traînent ainsi longtemps sur le Net, courant le risque de hanter un jeune lorsqu’il cherchera un travail ou une université.

    Ces photos peuvent être difficiles à éradiquer. Il faut le demander directement à la personne qui les a affichées. Le mauvais goût n’est pas une condition suffisante pour l’y obliger : Facebook, par exemple, stipule qu’il ne peut obliger quelqu’un à retirer des photos que si elles vont à l’encontre des Conditions d’utilisation du site.

    Les nouvelles technologies nécessitent de développer une nouvelle forme de courtoisie. Demander la permission aux intéressés lorsqu’on veut poster ou étiqueter une photo d’eux en ligne devrait faire partie de ces règles de politesse de base (sans parler du fait qu’il faut bien réfléchir aux photos qu’on veut mettre en ligne au départ !).
  • Les médias sociaux tels que Facebook, les messages textes et les messages instantanés sont une façon très efficace de planifier les fêtes – le problème, cependant, est qu’il est difficile de contrôler le nombre de personnes qui recevront l’invitation. Les parents devraient parler à leurs enfants des risques d’afficher des renseignements sur une fête directement sur leur page de réseau social.

Problèmes lies à la vie privée

Lorsqu’on veut afficher quelque chose en ligne, il s’agit de la considérer non seulement en fonction du public visé (vos amis), mais aussi de l’auditoire possible – depuis les publicitaires jusqu’aux indésirables avec lesquels vous ne voudriez certainement pas partager vos renseignements et commentaires personnels.

Il est important d’apprendre à utiliser les réglages de confidentialité sur les sites de réseautage social, afin de protéger non seulement ses renseignements personnels, mais aussi sa réputation.

Facebook étant de loin le réseau social le plus populaire auprès des jeunes Canadiens, prenons-le comme exemple concret : lorsqu’on s’inscrit à Facebook, le site incite à fournir beaucoup de renseignements personnels par le biais de « formulaires » à compléter. Le site offre également des options et réglages destinés à restreindre l’accès à vos renseignements personnels, mais les jeunes ne s’en servent généralement pas, et se contentent de l’option par défaut – ce qui n’est pas une bonne idée : la majorité des informations mises sur leur profil se retrouvent alors visibles par « tout le monde ».

Notons cependant que lors de la refonte de sa politique de confidentialité en décembre 2009, et dans le but de protéger les jeunes de moins de 18 ans, Facebook a limité leurs paramètres de confidentialité aux options « Amis et leurs amis », et « Réseaux ». De plus, leurs informations ne sont pas accessibles aux moteurs de recherche. Mais bien entendu ces protections ne sont effectives que si le jeune n’a pas menti à propos de son âge et inscrit en tant qu’adulte.

Voilà ce que Facebook note à propos de sa politique de protection de la vie privée des mineurs :

« Les paramètres de confidentialité appliqués aux mineurs (toutes personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans) ne sont pas exactement les mêmes que ceux appliqués aux adultes. Les « informations publiques » (nom, photo du profil, sexe, ville actuelle, réseaux, liste d’amis et Pages dont vous êtes fan) qui apparaissent dans le profil et peuvent être utilisées par les applications sont les mêmes pour les adultes et les mineurs. Les adultes et les mineurs apparaissent également dans les résultats de recherche sur Facebook.

Cependant, le paramètre Tout le monde n’est pas appliqué de la même façon aux mineurs et aux adultes. Lorsque les mineurs utilisent le paramètre Tout le monde pour des informations telles que des photos ou des mises à jour de statut, ces informations ne peuvent être en fait vues que par leurs amis, les amis de leurs amis et les personnes des réseaux auxquels ils appartiennent. En outre, le profil des mineurs n’est pas indexé par les moteurs de recherche (il le devient lorsque ces mineurs atteignent l’âge de la majorité). »

Cela vaut toujours la peine de prendre connaissance des options de confidentialité proposées par un site de réseautage social. Sur Facebook, par exemple, vous pouvez commencer par lire avec votre jeune la confidentialité sur Facebook.

Find us on FaceBook Follow us on Twitter!